About the Uganda Country Platform

Prolinnova–Uganda is an NGO-led initiative to develop a national learning network for the promotion of local innovation in ecologically oriented agriculture and natural resource management (NRM). Prolinnova–Uganda was initiated in 2003, with the secretariat at Environmental Alert, an NGO.

The programme seeks to: 

  • Set up an effective multistakeholder partnership programme in Uganda
  • Set up lasting mechanisms for linkages between these initiatives for analysis of and learning from Prolinnova experiences and for mutual support
  • Synthesise lessons from these new initiatives and similar experiences and document and spread the lessons
  • Encourage wider application and institutionalisation of Prolinnova approaches within formal research, development and education.

The focus is upscaling, mainstreaming and institutionalising community-led approaches to agriculture and NRM. Innovations identified, verified and documented include improving soil fertility through organic manure; control of pests in crops; seed selection; upland yam growing; processing different products from amaranths like porridge and snacks; making briquettes and peel bran processing from waste; developing poultry incubator as well as control of diseases in animals. In addition to identifying local innovations, other activities include: 

  • Capacity building in Participatory Innovation Development (PID) and sustainable land management, curriculum development in higher institutions of learning, policy lobbying and advocacy
  • Participatory monitoring and evaluation
  • Joint experimentation on local innovations by farmers, scientist researchers and development workers
  • Creating awareness about integrating and mainstreaming PID approaches in institutions of research, education and extension
  • Piloting Local Innovation Support Fund (LISF)
  • Facilitating farmer-led documentation.

Prolinnova–Uganda is a Country Platform with 34 diverse partners, including government institutions, non-governmental organisations (NGOs), community-based organisations (CBOs) and the private sector. Out of these partners, the National Steering Committee (NSC) and Core Team were formed. 

The NSC provides policy guidance to the Country Platform and, as of July 2020, comprises the following persons:

Prolinnova–Uganda National Steering Committee (NSC)

  1. Alex Lwakuba, Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF)
  2. (Ms) Anne Akwango, Development Network of Indigenous Voluntary Associations (DENIVA)
  3. (Ms) Beatrice Akello, National Agricultural Research Organization (NARO)
  4. Christopher Kyeswa, Africa 2000 Network Uganda (A2N)
  5. (Ms) Claire Mukankusi, International Centre for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT)–Uganda
  6. (Ms) Deborah Kasule, Uganda National Council for Science and Technology (UNCST)
  7. (Ms) Magdalene Amujal Ogwang, KULIKA–Uganda
  8. Patrick Byakagaba, School of Forestry, Environmental and Geographical Sciences, Makerere University (SFEGS)
  9. Ssentongo Daudi, Uganda National Farmers Federation (UNFFE) – NSC Chair

      Lawrence Ssentongo, Environmental Alert (EA), Prolinnova–Uganda coordinator; ex-officio member of NSC

The Core Team members provide technical support to the Country Platform and are responsible for implementing Prolinnova activities. The team includes people from the following organisations: EA, KULIKA–Uganda, A2N, MAAIF, Participatory Ecological Land Use Management Association (PELUM–Uganda), National Agricultural Advisory Services (NAADS), UNCST, NARO, Nalukonge Community Initiatives Association (NACIA) and Kikandwa Environmental Association (KEA). The last two are rural community-based organisations.  

Prolinnova–Uganda piloted Local Innovation Support Facilities (LISFs) in six districts: Wakiso, Kayunga, Mukono, Mityana, Masaka and Mubende.

The Country Platform also completed the Rockefeller Foundation-supported project CLIC-SR (Combining Local Innovative Capacity with Scientific Research), involving farmer-led joint experimentation together with formal researchers in two districts: Moya and Nakasongola.


Afrikaans AF Arabic AR English EN French FR German DE Portuguese PT Spanish ES